A Quick Word from the Front

Just a quick update on the News of the World for this writer…

  • I still have stories circulating on their “Hope and Rejection Tour 2010”.  I still haven’t run out of pro markets yet, so there is still hope of completing my goal of getting at least one story published in a pro market by ConDFW 2011.*
  • One of my stories actually got a personalized rejection.  Non-writers have no idea how incredibly rare this is.  I’ve taken that story and made some revisions and cast back into the stream.  As a result, I’ve learned a bit and feel like I’ve made some progress as an author.  Fingers are crossed…
  • I will also soon announce another professional writing endeavor that I’ve signed on for.  I’m very excited but I don’t want to jinx it until it feels more official and is more of a done deal.  It won’t represent a great leap in income, but definitely getting my words “out there” to a different audience.  I’m very excited…

I’m still having trouble motivating myself.  Today’s blog at Black Gate Magazine had a great article that introduced me to a great quote…”Being a writer is like having homework every day for the rest of your life.” (Lawrence Kasdan).  This is true…maybe that’s what the rub is with me. Once I sit down and get to it, I’m fine.  It’s the sitting down to get my homework done that’s the problem.  Oh well, enough of my whining and “writing-about-writing-but-not-actually-writing”.  Time to get back to work…

*BTW: The ConDFW website has been updated and is looking great.  Plus, in 2011, they’ll have Tim Powers as a guest.  I just got introduced to his work and even wrote a review of one of his novels.  I’m very much looking forward to it…

About Shedrick

I am a professional librarian and a part-time writer that's working to do that the other way around. I currently live in North Texas in the lovely city of Denton (“The Home of Happiness“) with my lovely wife and the obligatory demon-spawn cats. When not writing, gaming, or watching cheezy kung-fu flicks, I can sometimes be found in a pub (or the American equivalent) enjoying a fine brew.
This entry was posted in Announcements and News, Ramblings and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Quick Word from the Front

  1. Smander says:

    OMG I love this quote. That’s exactly how I feel! Sometimes I despair because Im like, ‘I thought I LOVED to write? If so, why is it so HARD? Why do I feel like Im back at SCHOOL!!!!’ What is pro market? Congrats on getting a personalised rejection letter. As a writer I appreciate how amazing this is. To be honest I didnt think it actually happened. I’m glad it has allowed you to develop your work.

  2. Shedrick says:

    That quote spoke volumes to me as well. I’ll even wash dishes to avoid sitting to down to write…but when I do, time flies and I have fun. Bizarre.

    A “pro” market is basically a magazine/website that will pay at least $0.05 per word. Being published by them also count toward the membership requirements for joining the SFWA (Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America).

    Thanks for commenting!

Leave a comment