Better Nate Than Lever

I’m a day late and dollar short, as the old saying goes.  I had scheduled a blog post for yesterday and failed to deliver.  I hope my readers (the both of you) will forgive me.

Nothing really new is going on at the official Serial Distractions Underground Bunker/Tiki Bar and Babe-Lair™ of late.  Stories are still circulating.  I have another in process.  I have a novelette in the editing stage.  I’m working on maintaining the vigorous content schedule for the blog that I set. I did happen upon some more gems in my search of digital inspiration, though…

I’m starting to feel like the designated cheerleader for Black Gate Magazine.  The fact is, their writing series have been stellar.  Once again, John Fultz and Michael Jasper dole out excellent writing advice.  Fultz reminds us that “Character is King” when it comes to writing fantasy (or any fiction, for that matter).  Further, he illustrates the three, no five…six methods of “indirect characterization” to help bring characters, the heart of your story, to life.  Jasper’s excellent “Ten Things I Know Now” succinctly outlines the rules of the road for a new writer. 

I also came across this bit of fun as well: The Fantasy Novelist’s Exam.  Tongue is planted firmly in cheek here, but the exam can also make you look closer at some of more hackneyed and clichéd aspects of your work-in-progress. 

Back to the salt mines now; I got a work or two in progress myself.  Be sure and look back tomorrow for the latest installment in the Boneman’s Bargain series.

Verba volant, scripta manent

–Shedrick

About Shedrick

I am a professional librarian and a part-time writer that's working to do that the other way around. I currently live in North Texas in the lovely city of Denton (“The Home of Happiness“) with my lovely wife and the obligatory demon-spawn cats. When not writing, gaming, or watching cheezy kung-fu flicks, I can sometimes be found in a pub (or the American equivalent) enjoying a fine brew.
This entry was posted in Ramblings, Tips and Tricks and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment